Awards Program

AAMVA’s awards program fosters a tradition of excellence in the motor vehicle and law enforcement community by honoring individuals, teams, and organizations who have committed their time and resources to safety and security initiatives, outstanding customer service, and public affairs and consumer educational programs throughout North America. Each year, AAMVA receives numerous outstanding submissions in each category and through a rigorous judging process selects those that are exemplary. Awards are presented at our Regional Conferences and at our Annual International Conference.

Check out our 2023 winners by browsing through the various awards categories.

Toggle through the photos of our 2023 Awards Program winners to the right.

Thank you to all our 2023 Awards Program judges, without whom the program would not be possible

2023 AAMVA Award Winners

Eligibility for awards:

  • Open to all AAMVA jurisdiction members in good standing (except for the NMVTIS Enforcement Award, which is open to anyone)
  • With the exception of the Lifetime Achievement in Roadway Safety Awards, the content of the submissions must have been completed during AAMVA’s previous full fiscal year. For example, submissions for 2024 awards must have been conducted, produced, implemented, and/or developed in FY23 (between October 1, 2022, and September 30, 2023). 
  • If an entry won an award in a previous year, it cannot be resubmitted unless it has substantive upgrades or developments from the original submission.  
  • You may submit only one submission per agency for each award but there is no restriction on the total number of submissions.

2024 Awards

Updates and improvements include: 

  • The Fraud Prevention and Detection: NMVTIS Enforcement Award is now open to everyone - AAMVA members and non-members.
  • The Fraud Prevention and Detection Awards for Law Enforcement Agency and Motor Vehicle Agency are now combined into one agency award and awarded only at the International level.
  • The Fraud Prevention and Detection Awards for Law Enforcement Individual and Motor Vehicle Individual are now combined into one individual award (Fraud Investigations Individual) and are awarded at the Regional and International levels.

The awards submissions portal is now closed.


October 3, 2023Submission portal opens
November 17, 2023Submission deadline for all awards
December 2023 - January 2024 Internal review of submissions
January 2024Judges assigned
February 2024 - March 2024 Submissions judged
April 2024Notify winners and non-winners
May 21-23, 2024 Region 1 winners awarded at 2024 Region 1 Conference
June 25-27, 2024 Region 2 winners awarded at 2024 Region 2 Conference
July 23-25, 2024Region 4 winners awarded at 2024 Region 4 Conference
September 24-26, 2024 International winners awarded at 2024 Annual International Conference
October 28-29, 2024Region 3 winners awarded at 2024 Region 3 Conference

Past Winners

To view a comprehensive list of previous winners, please view the programs below.

file - 06/28/2023

2023 Awards Program Brochure

A comprehensive list of all the 2023 awards program winners.

file - 10/27/2022

2022 Awards Program Brochure

A comprehensive list of all the 2022 awards program winners.

file - 08/01/2021

2021 Awards Program Brochure

A comprehensive list of all the 2021 awards program winners.

file - 07/31/2020

2020 Awards Program Brochure

Comprehensive listing of the 2020 AAMVA Awards Program winners.

file - 08/05/2019

2019 Awards Program Brochure

Comprehensive listing of the 2019 AAMVA Awards Program winners.

Lifetime Achievement Awards

Presented to distinguished MVA and LE individuals in recognition of commitment to and accomplishments in roadway safety over the course of a career

Service Awards

Recognize achievements in service, partnerships, technology, and innovation  

Fraud Awards

Recognize achievements in fraud prevention and detection and in using NMVTIS to further an investigation of motor vehicle related crimes

Communications Awards

Recognize public relations, public affairs, and consumer education excellence among the motor vehicle, law enforcement, and traffic safety agencies...

International Driver Examiner Certification (IDEC) Award

Presented to IDEC examiners who are recognized for excellent achievement in their jurisdictions and one outstanding examiner of the year

Chair's Award of Excellence and Achievement

Special honor given at the discretion of the AAMVA Chair of the Board to an individual or organization whose contributions and service have left a...

For questions or more information about our awards program, please contact Awards Program.

Contact Us